Python 3.2 on Windows – Start a new language for Computer Vision

Today, I start with Python, a famous language, I supposed for understanding some computer vision source code of other coders. Python latest version is 3.3, but I found it is a bit messy with the versions of Python: 2.6, 2.7, 3.2, 3.3. Which one is the most suitable for a new bie like me? After a while, I found that 3.2 is the best because many important libraries of Python now available only with that version. The first step is intalling Python an its libraries:
Python 3.2
numpy-MKL-1.6.1. This is the most important lib of Python.
MatplotLib1.2
PIL 1.1.7. This library is for manipulating images with Python.
Python IDE and GUI Framework for Windows
SciPy
scikit-learn. This lib contains many Computer Vision and Machine Learning algorithms, need for my purpose.
scikits-image. Support for scikit-learn.
And some book for Python world:
Python for Prototyping Computer Vision Applications
Programming Computer Vision with Python. This book is written by Jan Erik Solem and you can find the companion source code at download link.
After some reading, I found that Python has something like C++, but not as abstract as C++, and has something like matlab, but a bit slower. To be continued …

6 Responses to “Python 3.2 on Windows – Start a new language for Computer Vision”

  1. Hershel Fouty Says:

    Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly comeback.

  2. Python 3.2 with Visual Studio 2010 – Why have to find another IDE? « Angels fall first Says:

    […] my previous post Python for Computer Vision, I showed some packages and Python 3.2 for Computer Vision. Python is a language that has many […]

  3. sms lån Says:

    This is an amazing blog post – thank you! Nevertheless I am experiencing a problem your RSS feed. I do not know why I am unable to subscribe to it (I don’t seem to get any posts to show up in my feed reader). Is there anyone else having this identical problem? Anyone who knows a solution to this, please kindly respond. Thanks!

  4. sms lån Says:

    You’ve a fantastic web site here! I do really hope that you will continue posting interesting posts just like this post!

  5. smslån Says:

    You have a fantastic site here! I really hope that you will continue posting interesting articles just like this post!

  6. smslån Says:

    Would you be keen on exchanging links? I think that you have a very great blog and I would like to be affiliated with your blog somehow. Please get in touch with me🙂.


Leave a Reply

